Appreciating all that makes America special

The Newberry Medal for Children’s Literature

John Newberry Medal,

The very best children's books are selected for the Newberry Award. Uploaded to Flickr by user Gretchichi.

The worst thing about children’s books is that everyone thinks they can write them. Most people have the self-awareness to realize they can’t write The Great Gatsby or The Grapes of Wrath. But a children’s book? No problem. There’s only one word to describe this logical fallacy: Duh.

Newberry Medal, awarded for Children's Literature,

Uploaded by

The great children’s books, as shown by the winners of The John Newberry Medal, are every bit the work of art that the great novels are. In fact, they make take additional skill, because they have to make sure that people with less experience and a smaller vocabulary can understand them.

The Newberry Medal has been awarded since 1922, and is given to American authors only. Some of the distinguished books to achieve this honor in the past: Johnny Tremain (1944), A Wrinkle in Time (1963), Sounder (1970), Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH (1972), Bridge to Terabithia (1978), and Sarah, Plain and Tall (1986).

It's easy to share with friends.